November 19, 2018
| On 5 months ago

All you need to know Meghalaya State Lotteries

By Shalini Singh

Lotteries in Meghalaya

Gambling is prohibited in the state of Meghalaya as it follows 1867 Public Gambling Act. However, lotteries in Meghalaya is legal. In 2015 the Supreme Court of India gave the states an authority to ban the sale of lotteries in the state. In its verdict, it refused to recognize the right to sell lottery as a fundamental right.

Only 13 states in India allow the sale of lotteries. It is legal in Kerala, Goa, Sikkim, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, West Bengal, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Manipur, Nagaland and Mizoram. Rest of the states have decided to ban it on the social grounds as they are of the opinion that the habit of lotteries can make them addicted and it can ruin families.

History of lotteries in Nagaland

In 2017, Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma announced that the Excise Registration Taxation Stamps Department (ERTS) had notified the new lottery rules which enabled the process of bidding for appointing a distributor for the marketing of state government’s lotteries in the state.

He also said that his government would emphasize more on the paper lotteries rather than focusing on online lotteries and it would adhere to the Lotteries (Regulation) Act, 1998 and rules framed thereunder.

Teer Lottery

A unique practice of betting which involves tradition, dreams and archery is one of the most popular lottery game played in Meghalaya. Traditionally called ‘Thoh Tim’, this is played every day in the capital of Shillong. Khasi tribe have practiced the traditional sport of archery for centuries and it is believed that people started to place their bets on it around 20th century. Till early 1980s the betting considered illegal in the state but soon the ban was revoked and the people were free to place their bets on this game. In this lottery the bettors predict the last two digits of the total number of arrows that hit the target. For instance, if 1,123 hit the target, then the winning number would be 23.

The local government estimates suggest that more than 5,000 bookies operate in Meghalaya and around 1,500 bookies operate in Shillong alone. Betters are free to gamble any amount of money starting from 1 rupee, going up to 500 rupees. Winners can get a return of up to 80 rupees for each rupee invested.

The Process

The Meghalaya government announces the results of its state lottery on a daily basis and they keep on announcing the results of their lottery scheme every hour. Thus the participants who have invested their money in buying the lottery tickets can keep on trying their luck at any hour of the day can give them a huge amount of prize money as their winnings.

Here is the prize structure of the lottery

Meghalaya State Government draws 12 lotteries on a daily basis and the people can check the results of this Meghalaya online lottery from the official website of the Meghalaya state lotteries or they can also visit for getting the updated results of this lottery.

Meghalaya State Lotteries

Dhan Barsha

10:00 AM


11:00 AM

Raja Rani

12:00 PM


1:00 PM

Kanehan Junga

2:00 PM


3:00 PM


4:00 PM


5:00 PM


6:00 PM


7:00 PM


8:00 PM


9:00 PM

Prize Structure

1ST PRIZE  – INR 50000/-
2ND PRIZE –  INR 40000/-
3RD PRIZE –  INR 30000/-
4TH PRIZE – INR 20000-
5 TH PRIZE –  INR 10000/-

"Join LotteryIndia Telegram Group for all latest updates by Clicking Here"
Shalini Singh

A Writer | A Reader | Above all- A Human Being constantly looking forward to pushing the envelopes!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*